The Moon

 

Although the following happened a few years ago, I thought the message of this story would be appropriate going into the unknown of 2013:

I glared at the ceiling fan whirring overhead . . . the sixty-three degree night was unusual for late fall. My digital alarm clock glowed 4:10 a.m.

Giving up any hope for sleep, I slipped out of bed, walked to the patio door, and peered outside. A full moon shimmered through the semi-nude limbs of great gnarled oaks; the brisk wind caused them to sway in an exquisite dance. Just then, a bank of dark clouds passed between me and the moon, blocking its brilliance. A few minutes later, a break in the clouds revealed the moon’s radiance once more.

The Lord spoke to my heart, “Remember all the times you thought I had forgotten you, that I didn’t care? You even questioned my love for you, thinking you were unwanted. Through all your anguish, pain, and feelings of abandonment, I will be glorified. You have not suffered needlessly.

“These dark clouds symbolize all the problems you feel are unsolvable. But just as the moon continues to shine behind the clouds, I am always with you. No matter what happens I have not forsaken you. Remember, I gave my life for you.”

Thunder boomed, lightning flashed, and rain began to pelt the windowpanes, but my heart was filled with God’s love and encouragement as I crawled back into bed. I knew the moon was still shining above the storm and that my Savior was watching over my lying down and rising up.

“For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart” (Jeremiah 29:11-13).

“O Lord, You have searched me and known me.
You know my sitting down and my rising up;
You understand my thought afar off.
You comprehend my path and my lying down,
And are acquainted with all my ways” (Psalm 139:1-3).

My wish for you is a safe, healthy, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: God Guarding Us | HodgePodge
  2. Betty Sharp
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 22:28:56

    How beautifully stated. What a wonderful reminder that He’s always there watching over us even when we can’t see or feel him–it’s times like those that our faith has to kick in as we remember that His promises are true and He is faithful His grace is sufficient and what He’s said He will do. On Him we can depend! May 2013 be the best year we have ever had as we all draw nearer to God He’ll draw closer to us!

Leave a Reply

Copyright Notice

All scripture quotations, unless otherwise
indicated, are taken from the New King
James Version®. Copyright © 1982 by
Thomas Nelson, Inc. Used by permission.
All rights reserved.

Scripture quotations marked (NLT) are
taken from the Holy Bible, New Living
Translation, copyright © 1996, 2004,
2007 by Tyndale House Foundation.
Used by permission of Tyndale House
Publishers, Inc., Carol Stream, Illinois
60188. All rights reserved.

Disclaimer

I understand that WordPress may put ads on the "free" blogs in order to make money. However, I wanted my readers to be aware that I do not condone the political or adult-themed ads which may appear on this blog.

Blog Visits

  • 9,149 Visits
